Obedience.

Definition: 1 a: an act or instance of obeying b : the quality or state of being obedient.

I find it very difficult to be obedient sometimes. For example, when my parents would ask me to pick up dog poop in the backyard, I refused to do it. No matter the consequences or rewards. I absolutely refused.

Being obedient to teachers and coaches. I hated running the mile in PE class. I felt like it was just a pointless activity to see who was the fastest. Also, when coaches would give orders to do something that seemed impossible, I always dreaded conditioning.

How can we forget about our obedience to God? I struggle with this one the most. I struggle being obedient to God because I believe I have it all figured out. I believe I have complete control in my life and that I can make my own decisions. Better yet, that the outcome of my life is controlled by me.

What I have realized is that God is begging for us to be obedient, he is laying our life out in front of us, all we have to do is listen and follow.

Easier said then done, right?

I have realized that I can’t do it on my own anymore. I have realized how much I really do need him. More than ever now.

“But [God] made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man he humbled himself and became obedient to death–even death on a cross!”                                              Philippians 2:7-8

If my Lord, God, and Savior was obedient to death on the cross to die for me and all of my sins, then I can sure as heck be obedient to what he calls me to do. He died, so I can have a life full of love and grace.

His plan for me is better than any other plan that I could make for myself, so why do I resist? Why do I try to do it on my own?

Letting God have control is a scary step to take, but I promise it will be the best step you ever take. God brings peace, and most of all brings hope! He always provides. There is nothing better than a God who is always there for you.

This reminds me of an amazing song by Hillsong United, “Father”

“Father
Let heaven and earth collide
In the endless wonder
Of Your love upon the cross
We will follow
And offer this life forever
To see Your love unfold.”

