WOW! It has been WAY too long since I have written last! So much has happened in the  last 20 days. Words cannot describe how blessed I have been through the rest of my summer journey!

Here’s the recap! I left Breakaway on August 14th, of course, bawling my eyes out as I said good-bye to my family. Yes I said it, my family. In the midst of all the chaos we bonded together like brothers and sisters.

Life was a hard adjustment at first. I didn’t really know what to do when I got home. I missed waking up by my sister Sarah, laughing with the boys in the kitchen, and staying up super late just diving into the Word.

I started practice the day I got home. I have 12 amazing, beautiful young woman on my junior varsity cheerleading team! At first I had my reservations, but these girls are doing AWESOME! They are such hard workers and are so determined to succeed!

I had lunch with two of the most amazing role models in my life: Kathie and Annaleah. It was just what I need to regain my focus back on life at home. Both of these women have taught me so much and really have helped me in my journey this last year. I am so blessed that I was able to reconnect with them. Not to mention catching up with lots of other friends!

I was able to hang out with my two beautiful best friends Emily and Bibi a few nights. Spend a couple evenings with Katy and Meagan. Also having a chill night at the Ram with Matthew! I have also mean’t some new friends during the process!

Currently I haven’t seen Jonathon since his mother’s surgery on August 15th. It has been really hard to see each other because of our conflicting work schedules, but all is well because he is coming to hang out with me for a few days to celebrate his birthday! We have a very exciting weekend filled with the beach, fair, concert, and spending time catching up with friends! And the best news of all is that mom is doing great!

I think part of the rough transition back at home was dealing with my body image. I gained about 5 pounds when I was away at summer. And I’m sure you’re thinking, 5 pounds no big deal, but it was a huge deal to me. I have always been self-concious about my body image and I finally was just tired of being upset with the way I looked.

So I decided to make a change. I made a promise to myself to start eating better and working out more. The goal is not to lose a whole bunch of wait to just gain it all back, but just to make a healthy change in my life. I have been working out 6 days a week and watching what I eat. Truth is changing your body is about 70-80% of what you it and only 30-20% of how you exercise. Sometimes we forget its that what goes into our bodies could be doing more damage then what we think.

To be honest, eating cookies every meal at camp was the best choice haha. I have been working out for a total of 2 weeks now and have lost 6 pounds healthily! I just want to maintain a healthy! This has definitely been a self-confidence booster!

Now…to the MOST exciting news! I GOT PLACED FOR MY STUDENT TEACHING! I have been waiting and waiting for this day to happen. I remember seeing other friends post all over their facebooks that they received their placements and I was just so jealous, which is not a good thing either!

I finally decided to check my inbox and about passed out when I saw that e-mail that I got placed! I am placed at school that is truly inspirational. The staff is like a big, happy family and everyone is so welcoming and inviting!

I have been working at my school for the last 3 days and every day I realize how truly blessed I am to have such a unique opportunity. I know the Lord is going to do GREAT things in this school and I am so blessed that this is part of his plan!

My mentor teacher, Stephanie, is such a loving and caring woman. She has a heart of gold and loves on kids like I have never seen before. She has a grounded faith in God and this truly is shown through her love for these kids! I am so blessed to have a mentor teacher who is Christ-centered! It has really opened up my eyes and I know I will be able to learn a lot from her this school year!

Our first day of school is next Wednesday and I am full of mixed emotions about how this day is going to go! I have been waiting for this day for so long and I cannot believe it is almost here!

Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers this coming week as I embark on a journey that I have been waiting for since I completed fourth grade!

“And this is my prater: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of sight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the fay of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ–to the glory and praise of God.” Philippians 1:9-11.