That’s right, you read it correctly, I’m engaged!

I’m gonna be honest…I have really be slacking on updating this whole blog thing. Life has just been crazy and is about to get even crazier!

Let’s start where I left off. I have been staying extremely busy with student teaching and coaching! My girls are doing fabulous and I get to meet my little fourth grade kiddos tomorrow! I am beyond excited!

This big weekend extravaganza started basically on Sunday! I was finally able to see Jonathon after patiently waiting for 2 weeks. I had a fun-filled weekend all planned out to celebrate his 24th birthday! Little did I know, that my plan was nothing compared to his!

We started out by going to church, before we headed to Pacific City. We listened to Pastor Barry’s amazing sermon on New Beginnings. He gave a wonderful sermon about how new and exciting things are about to happen and how they could even happen today! Coincidence vs. God’s Perfect Timing? God’s Perfect Timing HANDS DOWN!

After church we headed to have lunch with my parents to celebrate Jon’s birthday and then headed to the beach. On the way to the beach I remember telling Jonathon how excited I was to go back to Pacific City because this is where I knew I was in love with him (another coincidence? I think not!).

As we arrived at the beach we decided to hike up the big sand dune. It took us about 30 minutes to climb because I was being such a baby and my calves were burning like NO BODY’S BUSINESS! Needless to say, Jonathon basically dragged me up the hill half of the way. Finally we made it to the top and sat up there for a while and people watching and relaxing.

We then headed back down the hill and walked along the beach. We admired all the dogs and I wrote our names in the sand, cause doesn’t that what everyone else does at the beach? By this time I was hungry so we decided to go eat at the Pelican Pub. Of course, it was an hour and a half wait, and Jonathon said that he was starving so we settled for Ben and Jeff’s Taco and Burger Restaurant! (I found out later Jonathon wasn’t even hungry at all, but he couldn’t wait an hour and a half to eat because we had to make it to Cape Kiwanda by sunset).

I ate my yummy fish tacos and drank a Full Sail IPA and Jonathon had fish and chips and a chocolate milkshake. Finally after we ate Jonathon and I started the walk out to Cape Kiwanda (the big cliff). We finally made it to the starting path of Cape Kiwanda, when I told Jonathon that I didn’t want to go any further because the path out to the cape looked very sketchy! The path rides along the edge of the cliff and one wrong move and you are free falling at least 100 feet down.

We settled in safer spot looking at the sunset, but then three very chatty ladies were ruining the ambiance, and Jonathon finally convinced me to climb up the sketchy path to Cape Kiwanda. By this point, I could tell he was a little irritated haha (: Not to mention that I had been complaining the last 20 minutes about how bad I need to go to the bathroom. I’m sure by this point Jonathon was probably going insane about all the “problems” arising. Looking back now, all I can do is laugh because I know I can make life so difficult for him sometimes, but yet he still loves me the same (:

I remember praying right before I headed on the trail. I asked the Lord for his protection and safety as we crossed over. I felt an overwhelming sense of peace that God had everything under control (and boy he did!).

We carefully and safely make it across the path and Jonathon finds the most perfect spot to watch the sunset.

We sat there just admiring when Jonathon started to talk. I didn’t notice anything different in his tone, but I knew it was going to be a somewhat deep talk. Some ask how come I didn’t know he was about to propose? My answer for that is Jonathon and I always seem to have deep talks, so I thought nothing of it. He started talking about what Pastor Barry said in his sermon earlier in church, how I said I fell in love with him year over a year ago in this very spot, and how he thought this place is truly special to us.

Then all of a sudden….he stands up and is digging in his pants pocket and I bluntly ask, “What are you doing?” Legitimately not knowing at all what was going on. I thought he was looking for my cellphone, because he has been holding my phone in his pocket all day. Completely caught off guard he said Michele, and got down on one knee and said, “Will you marry me?”

From that point on, much of the next few minutes is a blur of me screaming “Oh My God” and a rushing flow of joyful tears, smiles, and laughter. I barely can get the “YES!” out of my mouth because I was in so much shock! He grabbed my left hand and slid on the MOST gorgeous ring I have ever seen in my entire life!

We spent the next few minutes of me sobbing and laughing in his arms! Of course I got mascara all over his white sweatshirt (:

Then I remember thinking to myself, man I wish there was a photographer here to document this moment…then about a minute later, a random lady came up to us and said, “I think you two need your picture taken.” I look and Jonathon for an answer, but he had none for me. A complete stranger came up to us and asked to take our picture. Turns out she had no idea what had just happened AND that she is a professional photographer! SCORE! My prayers were answered!

Of course right after, I called my mother screaming and crying! Turns out Dad already knew about the whole plan, but of course Mom didn’t know. Obviously because she gets too excited (: and cannot hide that big of a secret from me (:

We spent the rest of the evening calling friends and family! It was such an amazing experience! I am so blessed to have such an amazing fiancé! He truly knows me better than anyone and always puts the Lord as the center of our relationship!

The next day we had a fun-filled day spent at the Oregon State Fair and Jake Owen Concert. We had so much fun just celebrating with great family and friends!

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19

God is always planting new seeds for us. He wants us to open our eyes and realize what he is doing in our lives! New beginnings are happening every day! Big and small all over the world. Trust God in these new beginnings in life and really listen to what he is calling you to do!

Throughout this whole weekend, I have only experience Joy! And I have found out that his joy can only be found through God. I am so, so blessed, but all the praise and thanks has to go to the big Guy upstairs, because he is the TRUE GOD OF JOY!

